An after dinner dessert drink…

This ain’t yo momma’s milkshake, baby.  No sirree.  This, my friends, is a Mudslide Shake.  And it just happens to be my husband’s favorite dessert treat.  Every once in a while, after we get the kidlets in bed and we have a minute to unwind, he’ll ask for a Mudslide Shake.  Usually I oblige and fix him one.  Occasionally I say I don’t feel like fixing one and he’ll whine for a bit, but finally give up and just hush.  However…one day last week was different.  He asked me to fix him a Mudslide Shake and I said, from my comfy seat on the couch, “No can do, buddy.  I’m exhausted.”  And much to my surprise he said “Well, tell me how to make it”.  After I picked my jaw up off the floor (you see, my hubs, though I love him dearly, isn’t much of a cook), I commenced to tell him how to make his beloved dessert drink.  Here’s what the next few minutes looked and sounded like.

HUBS:  What all do I need? 

ME:  Kahlua, Bailey’s, Vodka, Ice Cream and Chocolate Syrup.

HUBS:  Ok.

**I hear clanking and shuffling in the kitchen for a few seconds.**

HUBS:  Where do we keep the alcohol stuff?

ME:  Right there on the counter…over in the corner.

HUBS:  Oh, I see it.  OK.  How much of each?

ME:  You need one ounce of Kahlua, one ounce of Bailey’s, and half an ounce of Vodka.   Put that in the blender.

**More clanking around, as he gets the blender out of the cabinet.**

HUBS:  Wait…where’s something to measure it in?

ME:  *sigh*  The jigger is in the cabinet above the espresso machine.

HUBS:  OK…found it.  What was it again?

ME:  One ounce Kahlua, one ounce Bailey’s and half an ounce of Vodka.

HUBS:  Okay.

ME:  Now, add a big squeeze of chocolate syrup.

HUBS:  How much is a big squeeze?

ME:  I don’t know!  It’s not rocket science…just squeeze the bottle for 2 or 3 seconds.

HUBS:  OK.  Now what?

ME:  Add two big scoops of ice cream.

(Note – we had fudge ripple on hand…but you can also use regular ol’ vanilla)

HUBS:  OK.  Now what?

ME:  Put the lid on the blender and blend it.

HUBS:  Okey dokey. 

**Blender does it’s thing.**

HUBS:  Is that it?

ME:  That’s it.

HUBS:  That wasn’t so hard!

And that ends the epic story of how my hubs learned to make a Mudslide Shake.  In case you want the recipe without the play-by-play…here ya go.

MUDSLIDE SHAKE

  • 1 oz. Kahlua
  • 1 oz. Bailey’s Irish Cream
  • 1/2 oz. Vodka
  • Chocolate Syrup
  • 2 large scoops vanilla ice cream

Place Kahlua, Bailey’s and Vodka in blender.  Add a good squirt of chocolate syrup.  Add ice cream and blend until smooth.

To make the pretty chocolate swirl design on the glass…hold your glass at a 90 degree angle and gently squeeze in the chocolate syrup while turning the glass.  You can also just drizzle the sides of the glass with the syrup for a squigly design.

2 thoughts on “An after dinner dessert drink…

Leave a comment