My boy’s room makeover…on a budget!

 DIY Day @ ASPTL

So, do you remember what my son’s room loked like before?  A sad excuse for a room, wouldn’t you say?  Well, I went thrifting a couple weeks ago and found a few things that I thought would work for his room.  Then they went to stay with Grandmom and Granddad for the weekend, so I took advantage of a kid-free house and got to work.  Here is his room now…

assorted 045

The pictures are a bit dark…it was like midnight when I took these (the kids were at Grandmom’s, remember?)

assorted 044

I barely spent any money on this room because I used things we already had around the house. 

The things I did buy:

  • Bedspread – $5 at Goodwill
  • Candleholders – $2 each at Goodwill
  • Pillow – $2 at Goodwill
  • Shower curtain – $2 or $3 at Goodwill (I will tell you how I used it later)
  • 3 wooden stars – $3 at Mighty Dollar

So for a total of about $15 I made my kid’s room finally look like something!

Now for the ‘details’…

assorted 053

The only thing I purchased for this corner were the $2 candlesticks.  The chair was given to us by a neighbor a few years ago.  The ottoman goes with our couch, but we don’t use it b/c we have a coffee table now.  I recovered the pillow with fabric I had in my stash.  The bookshelf was my husband’s when he was a kid.  The picture frames were stashed in the garage.  The basket that holds the books was laying around in the garage as well. 

assorted 049

Not a thing was purchased for this area!  The dresser was my grandmother’s when she was a child.  I just hung a couple of his hats on either side of the picture, tossed a couple baseball items on the dresser and called it done!  Oh, and the curtains you see to the right I’ve had for a couple years…they were in his room at our previous house.

assorted 055

I just bought plain wooden stars at the Mighty Dollar for a whopping buck each.  Spray painted them and then painted on his initials. 

assorted 047

Remember that shower curtain I told you about??  I used it to make a ‘faux’ duvet cover.  I simply layered it over a comforter and placed it on the end of his bed.  I loved the detail in the ‘ribbon’ on the corners!

 

So there you go!  A bedroom for $15!

I’m linking up to Kimba’s DIY Day, so hop on over there and see what other bloggers are doing themselves!

5 thoughts on “My boy’s room makeover…on a budget!

  1. just to let you know, you’re link isn’t connecting from Kimba’s – I just typed in your homepage to get here –
    anyhow – looks FAB – you got some GREAT finds! I’m sure he’ll love it when he get’s back. 😉

Leave a comment