Baked Spinach Artichoke Dip

assorted 066I never thought I would like something that included not only spinach…but artichokes too?!  Yes, I was greatly surprised.  Like I said…I’m a bit of a picky eater.  But once I tasted it, I knew that I would be making this alot!  It’s a dish I often take to potlucks and parties.

I’ve tried several recipes, trying to find the one that I liked the most.  This is it.  Simple.  Quick.  Delish.  Can’t get much better than that!

Here’s what you’ll need for this one:

1 tbsp butter

8 oz cream cheese

1 garlic clove

1 cup frozen spinach, cooked and drained

1 can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Start out by preheating your oven to 350F.

Cube the cream cheese and place it in a skillet with the butter over medium heat.

assorted 039

 Stir occasionally while it melts down.  Meanwhile, cook spinach in microwave following package directions.  Thoroughly drain spinach by placing it in a colander or seive over a bowl and pressing down firmly on the spinach.

assorted 040

When cream cheese starts to melt down, grate the garlic into the pan.  You can mince it finely instead, but I like to grate it b/c you don’t end up with any big hunks of garlic in the dip and the juices are released a bit more when grating, so that helps the flavor really distribute through the dip as well. 

assorted 042

 When the cream cheese is completely melted, stir in the spinach and chopped artichokes

assorted 047

along with the sour cream and half of the shredded cheese

assorted 049

assorted 050

Stir well and pour into a baking dish

assorted 052

Top with remaining 1/2 cup cheese and bake for 15-20 minutes or until hot and bubbly.  Serve with chips or bread cubes.

assorted 066

That’s it!  Super simple, yet super delicious!  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Printable Version of Baked Spinach Artichoke Dip

Leave a comment