Birthday Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats

Oh yes.  I went there.  I wanted to try something new with the beloved Rice Crispy Treat.  But what to do?  I asked my 8 year old sprinkle-addicted daughter what I could add to them and she quickly said, of course, “SPRINKLES!!”  Well, ok.  That’s all well and good, but not very experimental.  I kept thinking…what flavors go with sprinkles?  And it hit me.  She absolutely LOVES birthday cake flavor ice cream.  Because not only does it taste like birthday cake, it has SPRINKLES in it!  Yes.  I will attempt a birthday cake flavor rice crispy treat.  I took these to my nephew’s birthday party and they were a hit!

Birthday Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 10 oz bag marshmallows
  • 3/4 cup yellow cake mix
  • 1 tsp butter flavor
  • 6 cups rice krispies cereal
  • 1/4 cup sprinkles

Line a 9×13 baking dish with waxed paper.  Spray waxed paper lightly with cooking spray.

 Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat.  Add marshmallows, stirring until the marshmallows are completely melted.  Add cake mix a little at a time, stirring until well combined.  Stir in butter flavor.  Add cereal and all but 2 tbsp of the sprinkles; stir to coat cereal completely in marshmallow mixture. 

Press into prepared pan with damp hands.  Top with remaining sprinkes.  Let sit for about 30 minutes, or until cooled.  Cut with a serrated knife sprayed with cooking spray.

6 thoughts on “Birthday Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats

  1. These look amazing!! I’m going to make them up for my daughter’s 2nd birthday party favors, use mini cookie cutters, and baggy them up as party favors 🙂

    I’m all the way in California and my Aunt Gayle is from your town and posted a link to the newspaper article you were honored in. So happy she did! Your recipes are amazing 🙂

  2. Pingback: Birthday Cake Batter No-Churn Ice Cream « Let's Get Cooking

  3. Pingback: Birthday Cake Batter No-Churn Ice Cream | Yoontu

Leave a Reply

