Skinny Zucchini Fritters

About a year ago a community college near me started offering a culinary program.  My sister was interesting in attending, and I was just curious what they would be offering (maybe one day down the road I’ll attend as well…who knows?!?!), so my sister, my then 7 year old daughter, and I headed off to the culinary program’s open house.  They had refreshments that the chef had prepared, and zucchini fritters were one of the offerings.  My oh-so-picky daughter ate one without knowing what they were and started raving about how Uh-MAZE-ing they were.  I let her eat another one or two and then told her they had zucchini in them – something she THOUGHT she didn’t like.  She was a new believer!  I asked the chef what was in them and he gave me a brief run-down.  Zucchini, feta cheese, and spices with some bread crumbs and egg to hold it all together.  Well, that sounds easy enough!  I attempted to recreate them a few times with no success.  My girl would take a bite and promptly tell me they were NOT like the chef’s.  So, I gave up.  But, when my husband brought some zucchini home from the farmer’s market this week, I decided to give it one more shot.  I didn’t have feta, so I used fresh parmesan instead, and used a homemade adobo spice.  I watched as my daughter took a bit…waiting…waiting…waiting…a smile produced and she started shaking her head up and down and proclaimed that I did it!  I made a zuchinni fritter that was just as good as the chef’s!!  SCORE!!!  And they’re good for you too!

Skinny Zucchini Fritters

  • 1 large zucchini, grated (leave skin on)
  • 2 tbsp egg substitute
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup fresh parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • heaping 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • 1/8 tsp oregano
  • 1/8 tsp cumin
  • scant 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • scant 1/8 tsp chili powder (use more or less, depending on the level of heat you like)
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil

Remove excess liquid from grated zucchini by pressing between two paper towels.  Place zucchini in a medium bowl along with egg, bread crumbs, and all spices.  Stir well to combine.

In a heavy skillet (preferably cast iron), heat the olive oil.  Shape 1/4 cup of the mixture into a patty; place in hot pan.  Repeat with remaining mixture.  Cook on each side for about 2 minutes, or until golden brown.  Serve immediately.

 

Serves: @10

Weight Watchers Points + : 2 pts each

One thought on “Skinny Zucchini Fritters

  1. Pingback: Healthy Zucchini Fritter and Shrimp Salad « A Tale of Three Kitchens

Leave a Reply

