Roasted Green Beans (Two Ways!)

My husband and I love green beans, but unfortunately, my kids do not.  The only green vegetables they like are broccoli and lima beans.  So, we eat those a lot.  I mean, a LOT!    I convinced them to try one bite of these roasted green beans since they love roasted broccoli.  And, friends, we have some new green bean lovers!  My 8 year old daughter asked for seconds.  And thirds!!  So, if you have picky eaters (whether young or old!), give these roasted green beans a try!  This really isn’t a “recipe”, but more of a method, so feel free to play around with it!

Roasted Green Beans #1

  • 1 lb fresh green beans (remove strings if needed)
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Toss beans in olive oil and place on sheet pan.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.   Roast in a 450 degree oven for 30-40 minutes, turning once, until parts of the beans are deep golden brown and are tender.

Roasted Green Beans #2 – Roasted Summer Veggies

  • Fresh green beans (remove strings if needed)
  • yellow squash, cut into large chunks
  • carrots, cut into small chunks
  • potatoes, cut into small chunks
  • zucchini, cut into large chunks
  • bell pepper, cut into small chunks
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Toss all vegetables in olive oil and place on sheet pan.  Roast at 450 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until all veggies are somewhat golden and tender.

4 thoughts on “Roasted Green Beans (Two Ways!)

  1. They look goooood! Do you use the same method for roasting broccoli? I adore broccoli but my boyfriend hates it so I’m always eating it solo. I think he might like it roasted though, especially with some garlic.

    • I do the same basic thing for broccoli (toss with olive oil and season with salt and pepper before roasting), but when it comes out of the oven I toss it with the zest of one lemon and the juice of the lemon. My 8 and 11 year old absolutely LOVE roasted broccoli, so hopefully your boyfriend will to!

Leave a Reply

