Lemon Rosemary Cookies

(First of all, my apologies for the bad photo…I took this photo with my iPhone.)

I do not have a green thumb.  I go out every spring and buy flowers and herbs and tell myself that I will do better this year and not let them die within a few weeks.  And every year, I let them die.  I forget to water them.  You kinda have to do that pretty often to keep your flowers and herbs alive.  But, Rosemary is a little more ‘hardy’ and can actually survive in my herb garden, so I’m always looking for ways to use it.  My aunt Jo sent me this recipe for Lemon Rosemary Cookies and I was in love.  Lemon?  Love it.  Rosemary?  Didn’t kill it.  Must make these cookies!  It may sound like an odd combination, but trust me…it’s gooooood! 

Lemon Rosemary Cookies

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 Tbsp minced fresh rosemary
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 sticks softened butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

Combine flour, baking powder, zest of lemon, and rosemary in a medium bowl.  In a seperate bowl, beat sugar and butter until fluffy.  Add egg and lemon juice until mixed well.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and blend well.  Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets 3 inches apart.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes, or until edges just begin to change color.  Do not overbake.  Remove to wire racks to cool.

 

 

  •  
Leave a Reply

