Skinny Fruity Oatmeal

I go on oatmeal kicks every now and then.  I’ll eat it almost every day for a few weeks, and then I won’t eat it for a month.  I’m wierd I guess.  When I’m eating it though, I like to try different add-ins to keep it from being boring.  Here’s my latest creation – I was inspired by, believe it or not, McDonald’s new Fruit and Maple Oatmeal.

Here’s what you need:

Oatmeal, water, an apple, dried cranberries, golden raisins, brown sugar and splenda.  If you want that maple flavor, add a tsp of maple extract.  I was out the day I made this, but I know it would taste even better with the maple flavor added!

Combine the oatmeal, fruits, and sugars.

Add water and stir. 

Cook for 2-3 minutes in the microwave.  Add more water if desired.

Skinny Fruity Oatmeal

WW Points Plus:  4

  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 apple, diced
  • 1/2 tbsp dried cranberries
  • 1/2 tbsp golden raisins
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Splenda
  • 1 tsp maple extract, optional

 

Combine all ingredients in microwave safe bowl.  Cook in microwave for 2-3 minutes or until done.  Serve immediately.

One thought on “Skinny Fruity Oatmeal

  1. I love oatmeal in the winter. I use skim milk instead of water and also add cinnamon instead of sugar or splenda. Great way to start the morning! Your recipe sounds yummy and healthy!

Leave a Reply

