Loaded Baked Potato Salad

I’m not normally a fan of potato salad.  I don’t like mustard.  I don’t like mayo.  So, it only makes sense that I don’t like most potato salads.  However, there was a restaurant we used to eat at (which is no longer in business) that served a loaded baked potato salad.  My husband loved it and convinced me to try it.  I was hooked.  I sat there and let my tongue taste every component of that dish and jotted down what I thought was in it.  After a few attempts, I had created a recipe that was equal to that restaurant’s potato salad!  It’s still the ONLY potato salad I will eat.  And it’s very easy to make.  It does have some not-so-healthy ingredients, but you could use fat free/low fat products to make it a little better if you choose.

First, you need to bake 3 lbs of potatoes.  Place them in the refrigerator until very cold…preferably overnight.  When they are thoroughly chilled, peel them and cut into small cubes.

Add 4 slices of cooked, crumbled bacon along with 4 tbsp softened butter, 2 tbsp fresh chives and 1 shallot, minced.

Add 1 cup sour cream, 1 tbsp mayo, 1/2 cup shredded cheese and salt and pepper to taste.  Stir gently to combine.

Spring is just around the corner and this is a great dish to take along for those cookouts and get togethers with family and friends!

Leave a Reply

