Tuscan Pasta & Beans…and a big announcement!

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that I have been a Weight Watcher for a year now.  I met my goal in October, and have been maintaining my loss since then.  But I have to admit…it was MUCH easier to stay on plan in the summer when you have all those fresh fruits and veggies available!  So, lately, I’ve been trying to come up with ways to incorporate more vegetables into our meals.  One great way to do that is to add them to main dishes!  And that’s just what I did with this simple pasta dish. 

To start, bring a pot of water to boil.  Once it’s boiling, add 3 cups of whole grain pasta.  Cook until al dente.

Meanwhile, in a skillet, heat about a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat.  Add 1 medium onion, finely chopped, and 2 cloves of garlic, chopped.

Let this cook until tender.  Stir in one can of diced tomatoes.  I love these fire roasted tomatoes with garlic…I may be addicted.

So, like I said…stir those in.

Add in about 1/2 cup chicken broth.

Now, at this point we’re going to add some herbs.  If I had fresh herbs, I’d add some basil, rosemary, and thyme.  But, since it’s January and snowy here right now…it’s dried herbs.   I added some dried versions of those herbs.  Italian Seasoning would work well here too.

Stir that together and let it simmer for about 3-4 minutes. 

Stir in 2 cups of fresh spinach OR 1 cup of frozen spinach.  Again…I didn’t have fresh on hand, so I’m using frozen.  It works.  You don’t even need to cook or thaw it first!

Simmer another 3-4 minutes and stir in one canof Cannelini Beans that you have rinsed and drained.

Cook until the spinach and beans are heated through.

Now, your pasta will be done by this point, so drain that, stir it in and serve it up!

This recipe serves 6, and each serving is just 9 Points Plus with Weight Watchers!

Now, did I mention something about a big announcement?  Hmmm?  Yes, I think I did.  I’m not going to give you all the details today, but here’s a little ‘teaser’… If you want help planning healthy meals, be sure to check back here on MONDAY!!  You won’t want to miss it!  I’m so excited about this!

2 thoughts on “Tuscan Pasta & Beans…and a big announcement!

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday!! | The Curvy Life

Leave a Reply

