My deepest apologies…and Chicken Mole` with Mango Salsa

First, I want to apologize for neglecting my blog yet AGAIN.  Summer time is always busy for me, with the kids being home from school…but I also switched jobs recently and that’s taken up a lot of my time lately…and, we gained a family member!  No, not another child…a dog!  So, needless to say, life got crazy and I haven’t been blogging.  I’m going to try to do better…but there may be times – like today – that I won’t have step by step photos, just the fnished product.  I hope you’ll hang in there with me until life settles down and I have more time to blog!

So, today’s recipe is one that a friend shared with me and I just tweaked a bit to our liking.  It is Chicken Mole` and it is D-Lish!  There’s a ‘secret’ ingredient in Chicken Mole` that you might be suprised about – cocoa powder.   My whole family loves this…even my picky children, although they only eat the chicken, not the Mango Salsa that tops the chicken.

If you’re one of my Weight Watcher friends…this is a great dish for you too!  It’s only 7 points per serving!

CHICKEN MOLE`

2 tbsp light brown sugar

1-1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp coco powder

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp pepper

1-1/4 tsp salt, divided

1-1/2 pounds chicken breasts, skinless & boneless (I used tenderloins)

2 limes

2 tsp honey

1 avocado, diced

1 mango, diced

3/4 cup grape tomatoes, quartered  OR 1 large tomato, diced

4 tsp chopped fresh cilantra

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Stir together brown sugar, chili powder, cocoa, cumin, and pepper.  Add 1/2 tsp salt.  Mix well and rub the mixture onto the chicken, coating well.  Bake until chicken is cooked through.

While the chicken is baking, prepare the Mango Salsa:

Grate zest from limes to equal 1 tbsp.  Whisk together honey, lime zest, and juice from both limes in a small bowl.  Add avocado, mango, tomato and cilantro, tossing to coat.

When chicken is cooked, place on serving plate and top with salsa.

One thought on “My deepest apologies…and Chicken Mole` with Mango Salsa

  1. Hi Carla,
    Thank you for commenting on my blog site. I just started it in June, so I appreciate any comments or feedback I can get.
    Your site is beautiful! I love the step by step pictures!
    ~Gina

Leave a Reply

