MPM & a COOKING SCOOL GIVEAWAY!!

It’s Menu Plan Monday (MPM)!!  Although I haven’t been posting my Menu Plans for quite a while, I do continue to use them.  Each weekend I sit down and plan out our meals for the upcoming week.  It makes my life SO much easier.  I’m going to try to keep up with posting my menus…we’ll see if I can do it!

Here’s what’s on the menu for this week:

Monday:  Quick Pork with Bourbon Sauce (WW), Green Beans, and Rice

Tuesday:  *I’m hosting a party at my house…here’s what I’m serving*  Black Bean Soup (WW), Chips & Salsa, and Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie (WW)

Wednesday:  Steak Bites, Grilled Garlic Potatoes (WW), Steamed Broccoli

Thursday:  Meatloaf (WW), Hasbrown Casserole (WW)

Friday:  Taco Salad (WW) for hubs and me, Quesadillas for the kiddos

Saturday:  Garlic Chicken (WW), Lima Beans, and Rice

Sunday:  *We will be going to our Bible Study Group, this is what I’m taking*  Chicken Taquitos (WW), and Mini Chocolate Chip Cookies (WW)

**(WW) means that this recipe is Weight Watchers friendly!!

If you would like to know more about menu planning, or would like to see more menu plans, check out The Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday post!

Now that we have that taken care of…let me ask you a question.  Have you ever wanted to know how to make the perfect steak?  Or maybe how to make a poached egg? Or maybe you’ve always wanted to know how to properly cook pasta?    If you can answer yes to one or more of those questions…you’ve come to the right place!!  Today, I’m giving away a LIFETIME PREMIUM MEMBERSHIP to Rouxbe Online Cooking School!  Recently, I was lucky enough to win a lifetime membership to Rouxbe, and I am loving it!  Although I thought I was pretty good in the kitchen already…I’ve learned a few things from Rouxbe in the short time I’ve been a member – like how to properly heat your pan so that your food won’t stick, and how to cook that perfect steak!  Well, I was super-duper excited when the fabulous folks at Rouxbe were generous enough to give me an extra Lifetime Premium Membership to give to one of you! 

Wondering just what you get with a Lifetime Membership to Rouxbe?

  • Video Cooking Lessons
  • Video Recipes
  • Message Boards
  • Rouxbe Blog
  • and much more!

The Lifetime Premium Membership has a value of $200!!!  And one of YOU is going to win it!  Here’s how:

Leave me a comment with the answer to one or both of these questions:

  • What’s your worst kitchen catastrophe?  Maybe you burned a special dinner for your spouse, or did you once use salt instead of flour in a cake?  Tell me what you did!
  • What is the one thing that you’d like to know how to cook perfectly?  Ever wanted to know how on earth to prepare a fancy french dish, or just want to be able to make great biscuits like those at Red Lobster?  Tell me what you want to know!

Here are the rules for the contest:

  • Leave a comment in this post answering one or both of the above questions to be entered in the drawing.
  • Post about this giveaway on your blog, and link to the post in a seperate comment for an extra entry!
  • Entries will be accepted through this Friday, February 19 until 6 pm EST.  
  • Winner will be announced no later than 12 pm EST on Saturday, February 20. 

 

Good Luck!!

9 thoughts on “MPM & a COOKING SCOOL GIVEAWAY!!

  1. Hey, Carla –
    I’m planning to come to your party on Tuesday….hopefully….depending on snow! Anyway, my worst kitchen catastrophe is from college. I made homemade chocolate chip cookies and they were really runny, but it was a new recipe, so I thought it was just wierd. When they bubbled up in the oven, I knew something was wrong. That’s when I realized I used powdered sugar….not flour!!!OOPS!
    As for what I’d like to see….I’m enjoying your WW friendly recipes. I guess just keep us updated on how to make the foods we love in WW friendly formats.

  2. Hi Carla!

    My worst cooking experience happened when I was about 12 years old and made lemon bars for the first time and added waaaaayyyyy too much salt. Needless to say they were not edible:)

  3. Oh wow…my worst cooking experience would have to be my attempts to make bread from scratch. Can you say bricks? haha I still haven’t mastered it yet. What I’d love to learn to cook is creme brule. (my husband’s favorite dessert).

  4. My first macaroni gratin is still a joke in my family, even though it happened 10 years ago. I proudly brought it on the table, but once my mom tried to serve it, under the cheese, it was only a crunchy burnt mess.

    No one had explained me I had to COOK the macaroni before putting them in the gratin plate in the oven.

    What I’d like to cook/bake perfectly is macaron. Mine are never as pretty & tasty as those of bakeries…

  5. I would love to be able to make an excellent pizza. I keep trying and making modifications to a couple crust recipes. But haven’t found just the right recipe yet.

  6. Hello! I have stumbled on your blog via PeachRainbow and I am so very interested in entering this contest! I LOVE to cook and bake. I would really love to learn how to bake artisan bread.

    I have blogged about one of my worst cooking disasters here:

    http://jackidyrholm.blogspot.com/2010/01/having-pink-eye-means-i-can-give-people.html

    And my cooking blog is here:

    http://jackiskitchen.blogspot.com/

    Thank you for this offer, and I am adding your blog to my list of must-reads!

Leave a Reply

