My favorite sandwich…as a dip!

What? 

My absolute favorite sandwich on the face of this earth is a BLT – Bacon, Lettuce & Tomato sandwich, with a bit of mayo smeared on the bread.  One day I needed an appetizer/finger food dish to take to a gathering and I was also craving a BLT.  So I wondered what I could do to turn a BLT into an appetizer.
Then I had a LIGHT BULB MOMENT!!  A dip!  Yes!  I’ll turn it into a dip.

So, here’s how it went down, friends.

I started out by dicing up a package of bacon.

Then, I diced up some sundried tomatoes.  Probably 1/2 cup worth.

Now, fry up that bacon until it’s nice and crispy.

Remove the bacon to some paper towels to drain.  Then toss the diced sundried tomatoes in the pan just for a minute or two to bring out their flavor.

Remove the sundried tomatoes to the paper towels to drain as well.

Now, in a bowl, combine 3/4 cup sour cream and 1 cup mayonnaise.

Stir to combine and then add in the bacon and sundried tomatoes.

Give it a taste and and salt if you need to.  I didn’t, but it will depend on how salty your bacon is, really.

Now, if you really want the whole BLT experience, I’d serve it on a bed of green leaf lettuce.  But I didn’t have any in the fridge that day, so I just plopped in a nice bowl.  It’s all good.  Serve with crusty bread or chips.  I went with tortilla chips.

Oh man, was this stuff good.  Awesomely good.  I think I could’ve eaten the entire bowl.  Everyone at the meeting enjoyed it too.  Try it and let me know what you think!

One thought on “My favorite sandwich…as a dip!

Leave a Reply

