Chicken Cordon Bleu

Chicken?  Check.

Ham?  Check.

Swiss Cheese?  Check.

Creamy Sauce?  Check.

Oh yeah, babe.  This dish is all that and a box of crackers.  I could eat Chicken Cordon Bleu every day I think.  Love it!  But I was always afraid to try cooking it.  Why?  The first time I tried it…several years ago…the chicken inside was raw when everything else was perfectly cooked.  Since then I’ve cowered at the thought of making Chicken Cordon Bleu at home.  That is, until a friend made it for a luncheon she was catering.  She was kind enough to tell me how she makes it.   I decided to try it One.  More.  Time.  Let’s see how it turned out…

First you need to lay your boneless, skinless chicken breasts out on some plastic wrap.  Cover with another piece of plastic wrap and pound with a meat mallet until very thin.

Lay a couple slices of ham on top of each chicken breast.

Then top it with some swiss cheese.  You can just slap a slice of cheese on there, but the cheese I had was very ‘stiff’, so I kinda chopped it up.  You could shred it too.

Now, just roll up the chicken and place it in a baking dish.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and paprika.

Now, heat a saute pan over medium heat.  Melt about two tablespoons of butter in pan and half an onion, chopped.  Saute until the onions are translucent.

Add in a couple tablespoons of flour and stir together.

Cook for a minute or so and add in some milk.  I just eyeball it, but I’d say I added about 3/4 to one cup here.

Cook just until it starts to thicken.  Pour over chicken in baking dish and spirnkle on some chopped parsley (fresh or dried…either is fine).

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Want to know what it looks like inside when you cut into it? 

I love the way it looks with the layers of meat and cheese! 
Give this one a try soon…it’s simple…but looks like you made a fuss!

One thought on “Chicken Cordon Bleu

  1. Pingback: It’s Meal Plan Monday!! | The Curvy Life

Leave a Reply

