Roasted Broccoli…the unsung vegetable

stuff 367

Broccoli is one of those veggies that you either love or hate.  I actually used to hate it.  But, just after having my little sugar lump of a daughter, I was at a catered dinner where we were served a very miniscule sized main dish.  And it really didn’t even taste that good.  But that’s not what we’re talking about here…so back to broccoli.  So in addition to the teeny tiny main dish we were served some rice and broccoli.  Well, like I said, I had a newborn baby girl, and, well, without getting to personal here, let’s just say I was still eating for two…if you catch my drift.    Think mama cow and baby cow.  Okay, let’s continue with the story.  I knew I needed to eat a substantial dinner because my baby needed nutrients…and I was hungry!  So, after eating the three bites of the main dish (sorry, I said I wouldn’t talk about that any more!) I ate the rice.  I was still hungry.  Bbut I didn’t like broccoli.  What’s a broccoli-hating girl to do?  Well, when that girl is also one that has a sweet little bundle of joy to sustain, she must suck it up and eat the broccoli.  So, I hesitantly stabbed a piece of steamed broccoli and slowly raised the fork to my mouth.  I chewed once.  I chewed twice.  Wait.  This isn’t so bad!  No, this is actually GOOD!  From that day on, I’ve loved broccoli.  And I’m blessed with two kids who like broccoli (maybe it has something to do with mama cow eating broccoli when she was feeding baby cow??).  We eat steamed broccoli all the time.  And I mean All. The. Time.  So much, that we are getting tired of eating plain ol’ steamed broccoli.  So when I came across a recipe(don’t remember where I first saw it)  for Roasted Broccoli I thought I’d give it a whirl.  It was pretty darned good.  I tweaked it just a bit and it was even darneder gooder.  

 

Here’s how it goes down.

You need one or two heads of broccoli…depending on how many you need to feed.  My inlaws were visiting when I took these pics, so I used two heads which was plenty to serve 6 people.  If it was just the four of us, I’d probably just do one.  Give the broccoli a quick wash and cut it into small florets and place them on a baking sheet.

stuff 362

Drizzle it with some olive oil.

stuff 364

Use your hand to toss the broccoli around and get it all coated with the olive oil.  Season it with some salt and pepper.

stuff 366

Now pop it in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Give it a stir and stick it back in for another 10 minutes or so.  The edges should be starting to turn brown, but still be mostly green.   Give it the fork test, too and make sure it’s tender enough for your liking.  If not, give it a few more minutes.

Now, zest a lemon and sprinkle that over the broccoli.  Squeeze a little of that lemon’s juice on it too.

stuff 363

Grate some parmesan cheese on the top and you’re ready to go. 

stuff 365

So far, this is my favorite way to eat broccoli.  But, maybe there’s something better?  Do you have a way with broccoli?  Share it with me…and you just might see it featured here on my blog…and who knows…I might include a gift for ya.  Leave me a comment with your broccoli recipe!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli…the unsung vegetable

  1. I had a friend once who was from India (I think) who often fixxed broccoli like this: She used a box of frozen florets thawed just a little….put them still frozen in a wok with butter. After they softened (stirring constantly) she added minced onion. She continued until the dish was golden. I have prepared it a couple of times and since I am (pinch here dash there kinda cook) it is difficult to tell you exactly how we prepare it but I think you get the jist. It is very good. I am going to try your recipe tonight. Thanks for sharing! Jenn

  2. Pingback: It’s Meal Plan Monday!! | The Curvy Life

  3. This is also my new favorite way of making broccoli. The only difference is when I toss it with olive oil and salt and pepper I also add fresh garlic. Yummy!!

Leave a Reply

