Big, Big News!!!

I have some pretty exciting news!  I am in the process of working on a cookbook!  Eeeee!  Doing the happy dance, doing the happy dance!  It won’t be anything super duper fancy, but it will be filled with a ton of my favorite recipes.  I hope to have it ready for purchase by the first of December – just in time for Christmas gift giving!  The price will be $15, and there will be well over 150 recipes in the book.  If you are interested in buying one, please leave me a comment here so I can get an idea of how many I need to get printed.  I will be adding a Paypal button to the blog soon so you can purchase it that way, or you can send me a check or money order as well.  All that info will be coming in the next week.  I can’t tell you how freakin’ excited I am about this!  Every time I think about it I just start smiling. 

Today’s recipe is one that will be in the book, and is one that I created in my own little crazy mind.  It was breakfast time and I was in the mood for oatmeal.  But I just didn’t want plain ordinary oatmeal.  No, I wanted something yummy and comforting.  So, I started plundering around the kitchen looking for something to give my oatmeal some oomph.  I opened the fridgyator door and I think I actually saw that little lightbulb come on over my head.  I had some leftover canned pumpkin sittin’ in there.  I’d made a cake with it a few days before and had just about a cup left over.  Okay, I said.  I think I’m going to invent a Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal.  And I did.  And it was delish.  And I ate it again the next morning.  And the morning after that.  And then I ran out of pumpkin.  Then I cried.  It’s now on my grocery list every week because I don’t ever want to run out of pumpkin again.  

stuff 086

Eating this Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal is like eating dessert for breakfast.  I mean, come on!  Who wouldn’t want to be able to eat dessert for breakfast…and not feel guilty! 

So, let’s do this thing.  Grab some instant oatmeal (cuz I’m lazy AND impatient), brown sugar, butter, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, milk and of course, some pumpkin.  I also throw in a little flax seed for extra “cleaning properties”, but that’s totally optional.  You’ll also want to grab the jar of pecans for the topping.

Pull a microwave safe bowl thing from the cabinet and toss in 1/2 cup of oatmeal.  I’m making a single serving here.  Add a tbsp of flax seed if you want.  I wanted.

stuff 056

Now, add some brown sugar for sweetness.  I like mine pretty sweet because, well…I have a sweet tooth the size of Texas, so I put in probably 3 or 4 tbsp of brown sugar. Add less if that sounds like way too much to you.   (Just for the record…there’s probably only two tbsp shown in this pic…I added more later when I tasted it!)

stuff 057

Now, toss in about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, a dash of allspice and a dash of nutmeg.

stuff 058

Add a pinch of salt. Some people think it’s wierd to add salt to sweet dishes…but it really does help bring out the flavors.

stuff 059

Now, the first time I made this, I did this next step in a separate bowl.  The next time I did it, I just added it to the oatmeal bowl, and it was just fine.  So, don’t dirty up another dish for this next step…learn from my mistakes, and just throw it in the same bowl with the oatmeal stuff.

Add about 1/3 cup canned pumpkin and 1/2 cup milk.  Throw in a tsp or so of butter for good measure.  Stir it all up.

stuff 063

Now, pour this mixture into the oatmeal mixture.

stuff 067

Stir it all up, and if it looks too thick, add a little more milk. 

stuff 068

**Here’s a tip for ya…I like to add a little less liquid than you’re supposed to when I cook my oatmeal.  That way, when it comes out of the nuker super steamin’ hot, I can add a little milk to it to thin it down and cool it off at the same time. 

Pop the oatmeal stuff in the microwave for about 2-3 minutes, until cooked well.

Now, while that’s cooking, let’s make a crumb topping for that oatmeal.  Why?  Well, cuz I like a little crunch in my oatmeal.  Wierd?  Maybe.  Delicious?  For sure.

Put some brown sugar in a bowl.  Add some chopped pecans.  Add in enough melted butter to make it a crumbly mess.

stuff 078

Pour your oatmeal in a bowl and top with this crumble stuff.

stuff 085

And dig in!

stuff 089

Don’t forget to leave me a comment if you’re interested in buying a book (Or two!  Or three!). 

Happy Eating!

5 thoughts on “Big, Big News!!!

Leave a Reply

