Cheddar Garlic Biscuits

b-town.n.food 461

Okay, so when you go to that famous seafood place…you know the one with the big lobster on the front of the building…the one that brings you a big basket of their awesome cheesy garlicy biscuits?  Yeah.  Go ahead.  Admit it.  You could eat the whole basket yourself.  I know I could.  I’ve tried to recreate those puppies several times and always ended up with a biscuit that was good, but not quite like those amazing warm, cheesy, smothered-in-butter biscuits.  Well, recently I picked up an issue of Food Network magazine and lo and behold (does anyone say that anymore?  Well, I just did.) there was a recipe for those biscuits in there.  I kinda thought…yeah, I’m sure they’ll be good, but probably not as good as the ‘real ones’.  But, I gave it a whirl anyway.  Come along with me as I whip up a batch of these babies.

Grab your food processor.  Yep, these are made in the food processor…how easy is that?!?!   Toss in 1 3/4 cups flour, 1 tbsp plus 2 tsp bakign powder, 2 1/2 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp salt into the bowl of the processor.  Plop in 3 tbsp of shortening as well.

b-town.n.food 435

Pulse the mixture until well combined.  Add in 4 tbsp of cold butter, which is cubed into small pieces.

b-town.n.food 436

And pulse that about 4 or 5 times, just into the butter is in small pieces, like so:

b-town.n.food 437

Now toss in 6 oz. of grated cheddar cheese

b-town.n.food 438

Pulse a couple times again.  Pour in 3/4 cup milk.  Pulse just until the mixture is mostened and forms a ‘shaggy’ dough.  (I know, that word just kinda sounds gross…but it’s the word FN used, so I’m rolling with it.)  It should look something like this:

b-town.n.food 442

Now, remove the blades and start scooping.  Drop the dough onto a lightly greased baking sheet – you want globs of dough that around 1/4 cup.  I used one of my handy-dandy ice cream scoop type scoopers that happens to be… wait for it…1/4 cup.

b-town.n.food 444

Throw those in the oven and bake for about 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. 

Now, I know what you’re probably thinking.  “But, what about the garlic?  There’s no garlic in there!  These are supposed to be Cheddar Garlic Biscuits?  Where’s the garlic??” 

And I say to you…”Don’t get your bloomers in a bunch…it’s coming.  All in good time, my garlic loving friend.  Be patient.”

When the biscuits come out of the oven, they’ll look like little golden mountains.  Mmmm, I love golden mountains.

b-town.n.food 455

Sing with me!  “For golden mountain majesty, above the fruited plains…”  Oh, wait.  Um.  Never mind.  Back to the biscuits.

Here, my dear friends, is where the beloved garlic comes in.  You can now unbunch your bloomers.

Melt 3 tbsp butter in a small saucepan with 1 cloved of smashed garlic.  Remove from heat and add in 1 tsp chopped parsley (dried or fresh).  Then, brush that buttery, garlicy goodness onto the biscuits.

b-town.n.food 460

And there you have it.  Amazing Cheddar Garlic Biscuits.

b-town.n.food 462

Oh yeah baby.  I could eat every one of these things myself.  But I didn’t.  I was nice.  I shared with my family. 

They each got one. 

Cheesy Garlic Biscuits

 

Printable Recipe:  Cheddar Garlic Biscuits

Leave a Reply

