Bean and Chicken Chili

A.K.A. White Chili.  It’s been cold around here lately and that puts me in the mood for warm soups and chili.  About a week ago, I wanted something warm and comforting, but I didn’t have time to make our regular chili recipe (watch for that in the next week or so!).  So, I looked through a few recipes I had for White Chili.  I didn’t really find one I liked, so I just made up my own recipe.  And it turned out great!  I even used some convenience ingredients to lessen my cook-time!  Oh yeah…now that’s what I call a good recipe – quick, easy and YUMMALICIOUS!  That describes this chili/soup for sure! 

Let’s Get Cookin.

 

Start by throwing one chopped onion and 4 cloves chopped garlic into a soup pot.  Let those cook until translucent.

Then, pour in 7 cups water.  Drop in 7 chicken bouillon cubes.

b-town.n.food 187

b-town.n.food 188

If you have chicken stock on hand, just use 7 cups of stock instead of water and omit the bouillon cubes.

Bring that mixture to a boil.  Add one small can of pinto beans, navy beans, butter beans, or any other kind of bean of your choice. 

b-town.n.food 198

Use a potato masher to lightly mash up the beans.  This will help thicken the chili.  Add another 2 small cans (or one large can) of beans.

Add in 1 tsp dried parsley, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp paprika.

b-town.n.food 195

Now, some people may cringe at the next ingredient, but it’s really not as bad as you might think.  Canned chicken.  Found in the same place as tuna at the grocery store, it works in a pinch.  I didn’t have time to cook chicken and shred it.  So, I used canned chicken.  I wouldn’t eat canned chicken by itself.  Um…no.  But, in a recipe like this, it’s not that big of a deal. 
So, open up two cans of chicken, drain well and chop it up a bit.  Of course, you can use ‘real’ cooked chicken if you want.  I won’t judge you.

b-town.n.food 190

Add the chicken to your pot. 

b-town.n.food 211

 Let the mixture simmer for about 30 minutes, and voila!  Bean & Chicken Chili!

To serve, I like to add a dollop of sour cream.

b-town.n.food 226

One thought on “Bean and Chicken Chili

  1. Pingback: It’s Meal Plan Monday!! | The Curvy Life

Leave a Reply

