Chicken Bryan…love on a plate

(I realize that I never posted the retro kitchen pics…I forgot to take my card reader with me on vacation!  I’ll get to those soon, I promise!)

b-town.n.food 337

When I came accross this recipe for Chicken Bryan on Ree’s Tasty Kitchen site I thought…hmmm…that might be good.  If you’ve eaten at Carrabba’s then you’ve probably heard of this dish before.  I have never eat there, and as a result have never heard of the Chicken Bryan.  And, I have absolutely no idea WHY it is called such.  ??  Any ideas??  Anywho, I’ve been looking for new ways to eat chicken because frankly, I’m getting tired of the same old chicken recipes.  And we eat a lot of chicken.  A lot.

Okay, so on to the making of this dish.  It’s not a particularly healthy dish…it has quite a bit of butter in it, but it is full of flavor, so that makes up for the unhealthy aspect, right?  Right.  I thought so.

Let’s get started then.  We’ll start by making a sun-dried tomato sauce.

Place 2 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp. finely chopped garlic and 1 tbsp finely chopped onion in a large skillet over medium heat.

b-town.n.food 353

Cook until the garlic and onion are tender and transparent.  Then add in about 1/2 cup chicken broth and 1/4 fresh squeezed lemon juice. (The stuff in the bottle will work in a pinch, but the fresh stuff is much…well…fresher tasting!).

b-town.n.food 354

Increase the heat to medium high and simmer until the mixture is reduced to half.

While the liquid is reducing, heat another skillet over medium heat.  Add a couple tablespoons of olive oil.  Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper and cook evenly on both sides until cooked through.

b-town.n.food 359

Back to the liquid that’s reducing.  When it reduces to half it will look something like this.  At this point, you need to reduce the heat to low.  b-town.n.food 358

Cut up 10 tbsp. of cold butter into small pieces.  Add cold butter one piece at a time, stirring until incorporated.  I didn’t use all 10 tbsp, but feel free to if you think your arteries can handle it.  Butter is yummy.  I think I used about 6 tbsp or so.

b-town.n.food 361

After you’ve added all the butter you can handle, chop up about a cup of sun-dried tomatoes and add them to the skillet.

b-town.n.food 362

If you have fresh basil, chop up about a 1/4 cup and toss that in.  I didn’t have any, so I used dried basil…about 2-3 tablespoons.

b-town.n.food 370

The original recipe said to top the chicken with goat cheese and then spoon the sauce over.  Again, I didn’t have any goat cheese, so I just spooned the sauce over and threw a handful of grated fresh parmasen and romano cheese on top.  But, if you have goat cheese laying around…try that…I’m sure it is pure deliciousness.

b-town.n.food 390

Oh.  my.  gosh.  I thought this would be a ‘good’ recipe that we might like.   We LOVED it.  Well, hubs and I loved it, and the kids loved it minus the tomatoes.  That’s a kid for ya…like the buttery sauce but pick out the tomatoes.  Oh well.  The lemon juice adds a nice tangy quality that makes your tastebuds dance.  Seriously.  They danced.  I’ll be making this one again.  But not too often.  You know…all that butter.  I don’t think my arteries could handle it too often! 

CHICKEN BRYAN PRINTABLE RECIPE

2 thoughts on “Chicken Bryan…love on a plate

  1. Pingback: Sundried Tomato Pasta Salad « Let's Get Cookin'!

Leave a Reply

