Mini Potato Gratins

I don’t know about you, but I really like it when I go to a restaurant and get served my dishes in ‘individual portions’ instead of it being dished out of a big pan with a big spoon.  Do you agree?  It just makes it more appealing to me.  I think that’s why I love these Mini Potato Gratins so much.  Well, that and the fact that they are very tasty.  And…of course….easy.  I like that I can serve little individual portions of these potatoes at home that look so cute on the plate beside your main dish, and they don’t take forever to prepare.

Here’s the low-down on the mini-gratins.  You’ll need one average sized potato per person, which ends up being two gratins.  If you have a ravenous family, you’ll want to account for that and make more gratins.  But us…we are good with two per person.  There’s four of us, so that’s four potatoes = 8 gratins.

The first thing you’ll want to do is peel those potatoes and slice ’em up pretty thinly.  Shred a pile of cheese, too.  (I used swiss and mozarella this time, but you can use any type you like)  And have some heavy cream on hand as well.  If you like onions, slice up some green onions to throw in there.  I didn’t have any this time, so I just chopped up some chives to pretty up the tops of the gratins at the end. blogfood 045

Now it’s time to assemble the gratins.  This is really technical stuff people.  Pay close attention.

You place a slice or two of potato in a muffin tin cup.  Put some cheese on top.  (This is also where you’d add onions if you wish)

blogfood 047

Top that with another slice or two of potato.  More cheese.  More potato.  More cheese.  Do this until you fill the cup.  Add a dash of salt and pepper on top.

blogfood 048

Now, this is the really hard part.  I hope you can make it through.  Pour a tablespoon or two of heavy cream over the potatoes.

blogfood 052

 

If you still have the strength and energy after all that work, the next step is to sprinkle on some chopped chives.

blogfood 050

Whew!  That was tiring, huh?  😉  Now, just cover the pan with foil and bake the gratins at 375 for about 15-20 minutes.  Remove foil and bake another 15-20 minutes.  And they’ll look like this, just slightly golden brown:

blogfood 043

Let them cool in the pan for a couple minutes, then run a thin knife around the edge to loosen them.  Use a small spatula or a spoon to remove the gratins to a plate.

blogfood 044

Now, you have to agree with me that those little babies are much cuter than a pile of mashed potatoes!  Am I right???  Huh?  Am I?  Am I? 

These are a nice change of pace for your family dinnertime…but they’re also a great addition to your holiday meal.  Your extended family will think you’re amazing when you bring a plate of these little beauties to the table.  You don’t have to tell them how easy they are.  It’ll be our little secret!

MINI POTATO GRATIN PRINTABLE RECIPE

Leave a Reply

