Southwestern Eggrolls

blogfood 126

Remember the Pizza Sticks  I talked about a couple days ago?  And I told you that I’d share another filling that would be fab-o done the same way?  Well, here it is.  Southwestern Eggrolls.  I could’ve called them Southwestern Sticks I guess…but that just sounded funny to me, so I went with eggrolls instead. 

Here’s the filling I came up with for this version.  It’s basically just some things I threw together, nothing real precise.  It could easily be one of those clean-out-the-fridge type meals.

1/2 pound ground beef

1/2 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup corn

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained well

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp salt

Approx. 1/2 cup salsa or taco sauce

Just cook your beef  until it is browned and onions are soft.  Place it in a bowl and add the black beans…

blogfood 101

and add onions, corn and cheese.  Although, next time I think I’ll cook the onions with the ground beef so they’ll lose their crunch.

blogfood 103

Add the spiced and stir together.  Add just enough salsa or taco sauce to hold the mixture together.  You don’t want it to be too wet, or the sauce will ooze out during baking.

blogfood 104

Roll up into egg roll wrappers just like for the pizza sticks. Place on a baking sheet.

blogfood 100

Spray with cooking spray and bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

blogfood 121

And that, my cooking friends, is a Southwestern Eggroll!  Easy and delicious.  Like the Pizza Sticks, these can be served as a main dish, or as an appetizer. 

 

Happy Cookin’!

One thought on “Southwestern Eggrolls

Leave a Reply

