Pizza Sticks

blogfood 119

I made it!  I promised I’d add a recipe on Friday and it’s still Friday…for a couple hours anyway! 

So, today I’m sharing a fun kid-friendly recipe that is super simple to throw together.  You know those rectangular shaped pizza snacks that you get in the freezer section?  Well, it’s like that…only tubular and they taste much better! 

All you need is your favorite pizza fixin’s – pizza sauce, pepperoni, mozarella cheese, parmesan cheese, and anything else that tickles your fancy (cooked ground beef, onions, peppers, mushrooms, etc) and some egg roll wrappers.  That’s it! 

Here’s how it goes down.  First, you chop up any large pieces of stuff like the pepperoni, veggies, etc (I just used pepperoni this time)…blogfood 079

And shred your cheese, if it’s not shredded already (I actually julienned some swiss cheese slices because that’s what I had on hand, and it tasted great!)  Throw it all together in a bowl, along with any other toppings you wish to include…

blogfood 077

Then I decided to throw in some leftover ground beef I had in the freezer (Thawed first) and some chopped garlic.  It’s not rocket science here…if it sounds good, throw it in!

blogfood 080

Now stir in just enough pizza sauce to make the mixture just  hold together…

blogfood 081

You don’t want it soupy…just barely moist enough to hold together.

Now, get out your egg roll wrappers and lay one down with a corner pointing toward you, like this…

blogfood 090

Then, place a line of filling, oh about 2-3 tablespoons, about two inches up from the bottom corner, like so…

blogfood 091

Then, fold the bottom corner up over filling and start rolling up…

blogfood 093

Now, fold in the side corners…

blogfood 094

blogfood 096

Now, moisten the top corner with a little water…

blogfood 098

And finish rolling it up…

blogfood 099

Place seamside down on a baking sheet.  I lined mine with parchment paper.  Why?  Because I’m lazy and I didn’t want to wash another pan!  Seriously.  Continue with the rest of the egg roll wrappers and filling.  Then, spray the tops of the rolls with cooking spray and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.  Yes…I use the stuff in the green can.  I’m not a parmesan cheese snob.  I mean, yeah, the real stuff is much better…but when it’s going in pizza sticks for kids?  I’m not wasting my money.  My kids like canned stinky cheese.  Actually, they love it…I think we go through a can a week or something.  Wait…I’m rambling on about stinky cheese, aren’t I?  Back to our regularly scheduled program.  Bake those sticks at 425 for about 15-20 minutes or until they’re a light golden brown.

blogfood 117

 

That’s it, people.  Homemade pizza snacks.  They’re healthier.  They’re bigger.  They’re yummier.  And, let’s face it…they’re cuter.  Just look at them all lined up like the Rockettes…

blogfood 120

You can’t tell me you’d rather eat a regtangular frozen piece of who knows what?

Up next…same type of a roll-up but another filling for a whole different flavor!

4 thoughts on “Pizza Sticks

  1. I love this idea! I make pizza 2x/month to make Husband happy, but I know this shortcut to dough prep will be not only fun, but also great as an appetizer when we have guests over.

  2. Pingback: Southwestern Eggrolls « Let's Get Cookin'!

  3. Carla, this recipe is fabulous! I made these last night, but I messed around with the wonton wrapper. What I did was I put them in mini muffin tins, and made like a cup for them 🙂 Turned out soooo yummy!!! Thanks for the great idea!!

Leave a Reply

