Peanut Butter Hollywood Squares

Cooking 015Remember those awesome peanut butter bar cookies they served in the school cafeteria?   You know the ones…the bars that are so peanut buttery it makes your teeth hurt just to think about them?  The ones that were so good, you wished you could ask for seconds? Yeah…that’s them.  And today, I’m going to show you how delightully easy they are to make.  I got this recipe from Pioneer Woman’s Tasty Kitchen website.  The first thing my husband said when he tasted them was “These are JUST LIKE the ones we had in school!”  And after seeing the ingredients, you’ll see why it was something they made in the school cafeteria…it’s all things that they could get in ‘commodity bulk’. 

I’m not going to tell you we ate half the batch in the first 5 minutes.  But we did.  And I wonder why I keep gaining weight?!?!

So, here’s the super simple recipe for these amazing bars.

In a bowl, combine the following:

2 cups peanut butter

2-1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs

1/2 cup butter, melted
(See what I mean?  Commodity type items!)

Cooking 003

Cooking 005

Stir until well combined.  Then press into a 8″ square pan, lined with foil.  Why line with foil?  Two reasons.  One – it’s easier to remove the bars from the pan later.  Two (and the most important to me!) – it makes cleanup SO much easier…no pan to wash!

Cooking 007

Prepare the chocolate topping.  Combine about 6 ounces of chocolate chips with 2-3 tbsp peanut butter in a microwave safe dish.  Melt slowly in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds, until smooth.

Cooking 009

Spread over bars and chill until set.

Cooking 011

Cut into squares and have flashbacks of the school cafeteria and that awesome hairdo you sported back then!

Cooking 015

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow to for another COOKBOOK WINNING WEDNESDAY!!!

11 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Hollywood Squares

  1. Hi ^^

    I stumbled upon this entry while browsing google for oven-less recipes (I’m currently on holidays in japan, and living in a guesthouse with a not-so-furnished kitchen ^^)
    Being french, I never ate that kind of treats, it looks really tempting!
    I was wondering, is it possible to do it one day in advance and keep it in the fridge?

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Squares–Another Memory Food « 1,000 Words A Day

  3. I started thinking about peanut butter squares in September 2010–just a year after your blog was posted.(I wonder if it’s seasonal for you, too? See my blog.) Finally, getting a response from the school I attended as a child with the recipe, I was hunting around looking for photos of peanut butter squares–because they were always square, and came across this blog. Won’t be copying your photos, that wouldn’t be fair, but am linking here so people can see them. Oh, and I like the addition of chocolate. Not something our school ever had, though.

  4. Delicious!!!! I made a batch of these last night! They remind me of how the school used to make them 🙂 I recommend putting them in the freezer or refrigerator and not leave them set out on your kitchen table, the chocolate gets really melty and the peanut butter gets really soft. Oh and i used Hershey’s milk chocolate bars because i prefer that over chocolate chips and it still turned out good.

Leave a Reply

