Cracker Toffee…with only FOUR ingredients! 4!

The recipe I’m sharing with you today is a good one.  Simple.  Easy.  Quick.  And only has 4 ingredients!  And, I’m ashamed to say, I could easily throw down the entire batch in one sitting.  Seriously.  They are THAT good.  I’ve heard these called several different things…Toffee Bars, Pine Bark, etc.  But I choose to call them “Cracker Toffee” because it gives a hint to the unusual ingredient in these little gems.

Cooking 113

It doesn’t get much simpler than this recipe, folks.   Preaheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Firstyou line a jelly roll pan (11x15x1-inch pan) with foil and spray with cooking spray.  Then, just lay crackers out on the pan, fitting in as many as possible.  My six year old loves to do this part.  You can use any kind of plain cracker really (saltines, club, ritz, etc), but I always have saltines in the pantry, so that’s what I typically use.  It will take about one and a half sleeves of saltines to fill up the pan…

Cooking 091

Now, in small sauce pan, melt 2 sticks of butter.  Or, if your husband does the shopping and came home with the one-pound BLOCKS of butter instead of sticks, you’ll need two honkin’ chunks of butter that weigh about 4 oz. each, totalling, of course, 8 oz.

Cooking 092

Add 1 cup packed brown sugar to the pan…

Cooking 093

Bring the mixture to a boil, and boil for two or three minutes, stirring constantly.  Then, pour the mixture over the crackers, spreading it with a spatula to make sure that all crackers are covered…

Cooking 097

Bake for 6 minutes.  The toffee mixture willbe nice and bubbly.  Sprinkle about one cup of chocolate chips (or you can use Hershey Bars instead) on top and let them sit for just a minute.  Once they start to soften, spread over the crackers with a spatula…

Cooking 101

Then, trasfer each cracker to waxed paper to cool completely. 

Cooking 102

OR, if you’re lazy, as I sometimes am, or just in a hurry for them to set up, you can leave them on the pan, pop them in the fridge until set and just break it into chunks instead of having neat little individual squares.  Either, way, they taste awesome!  Remember when I said I could devour a whole pan of these in one sitting?  I wasn’t kidding.  I don’t think I have ever actually done that, but that’s only because my kids and husband insist on gettting a couple too.  Otherwise, back off – they’re all mine, dude. 

Cooking 114

2 thoughts on “Cracker Toffee…with only FOUR ingredients! 4!

Leave a Reply

