Fresh Fruit Turnovers

assorted 122

Oh.  My.  Goodness.  These things are the bomb-diggity!  They are similar to fried pies you might be familiar with (especially if your local…think Haney’s fried apple pies!), but they are baked, not fried.  I dare say they’re healthier than fried pies because of that…but with all the butter and cream cheese in the dough…I’m not so sure.  But who cares…they are divine!  I made two kinds…peach and cherry, because I had both that needed to be used before they went bad.  You could make these turnovers with pretty much any fruit though…I’d love to make some raspberry ones sometime.

So anyway,  let’s get started.  First you need to make the dough.  Start by adding the following to your food processor bowl:

1-1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp sugar

Now, cut one stick of butter into small cubes, and do the same with one  8 oz. block of cream cheese. 
Add the butter to the flour mixture…

assorted 076

And process for about 10 seconds to blend, until it looks like coarse crumbs.  Now, add the cream cheese chunks and pulse quickly about 25 times or until the dough forms a ‘ball’ in the bowl.  Dump that big wad of dough out onto waxed paper and knead it gently 2 or 3 times to bring it all together well. assorted 082 

Flatten into about a 6 inch square, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least a half hour (or up to 2 days).

While the dough is chilling, prepare the filling.

If you are using something like peaches, you’ll need to chop your fruit.  If you’re using berries, just leave them whole.  Of course, for the cherries, I had to pit them…I don’t have a cherry pitter (but I’m now trying to find one!), so I just cut the cherries in half and scooped the pit out with a grapefruit spoon.  I left my cherries in halves, but next time, I’ll go ahead and quarter them, b/c the halves were a little too big.

So, chop up about 2 cup of  fruit and add the following to it:

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp cornstarch (or 2 tbsp flour)

1/4 tsp salt

Stir together…

assorted 102

Now, grab your dough from the fridge and roll it out.  At this point, decide whether you want to make half-moon shaped turnovers or triangle shaped turnovers.  If you want the half moons, just cut circles out of your dough (I didn’t have circle cutter the size I wanted, so I just used a plastic container!):

assorted 115

Or, if you want triangles, cut squares…

assorted 105

Place your cut out pieces on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Then spoon about 2 tbsp of fruit filling on HALF of the dough:

assorted 106

Now, make an egg wash with one egg yolk and 2 tbsp milk or cream.  Brush the egg wash along 2 edges of the dough (or along half the circle)…

assorted 108

I just use my finger for that…it’s just easier.  Then, fold the dough over…

assorted 109

Use a fork to press the edges together…assorted 113

Then brush the egg wash over the entire turnover, and cut 2 or 3 slits in the top with a sharp knife.  Sprinkle a little sugar over the top.

assorted 111

Now bake the turnovers at 375 for about 25 minutes, or until they’re golden brown.  Remove them to wire racks and they’ll look something like this:

assorted 119

Now, make a glaze with about 1 cup powdered sugar and a few tablespoons of milk.  Just add milk until it’s a smooth drizzling consistency:

assorted 121

 

Mmm…I think I just put on another 5 pounds just looking at those! 

These will keep at room temperature in an airtight container for 2 days.  They will get a litte ‘soggy’, but you can crisp them right back up by popping them in a 375 degree oven for a few minutes.

This recipe made  about 10 triangles and oh, about 6 or 8 small half moons.  We took them on a picnic down to Cumberland Falls…and only came back home with a couple!  Yes, they are THAT good!

I think they’d also be good with just some milk chocolate inside, or a cream cheese filling, or OOH, what about chopped apples with some caramel sauce.  Well, there went another two or three pounds on the ol’ hips!

Please don’t let the length of my post discourage you from trying these…they really aren’t difficult at all.  I just try to give you as many step by step photos as I can!

4 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Turnovers

  1. Carla, these look wonderful! I can’t wait to try them out…I know the family will absolutely love them. Thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

