My ‘famous’ Kentucky Derby Pie

This is one of my most ‘famous’ pies.  Everyone loves this pie…especially my husband.  And when I had my business…this was a big seller too.  I even sold these pies to the hospital for them to serve in the cafeteria!  I thought I’d share the recipe with my blogging friends.  If you like chocolate and pecans…you’ll love this pie!

First off, let’s make the crust.  Of course, you can use a premade crust, but once you’ve tasted a homemade crust, you’ll never want to go back!  And this is a super easy crust.  It is a Shaker recipe – for those who are local, you’ll know who I’m talking about!   

For the crust, you’ll need:

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

7 tbsp butter, cold

2 tbsp cold water

 

First, place flour and salt in large bowl.  Then you need to grate your butter.  I use a microplane type grater, but a basic box grater will work too.  Freezing the butter for an hour or so before grating helps a bit too.

assorted 002

Some people cut their butter in with a pastry cutter and that’s perfectly fine…but I’m just too lazy and don’t like doing it that way.  Once your butter is all grated, just stir it into the flour.  SO much easier than cutting it in with a pastry cutter, in my opinion!

Now, just add the water and stir with a fork until the flour is moistened.  Mix with your hands into a ball that cleans the bowl.  (You may need to add a bit more water of flour, if your dough is too dry or wet)  Don’t overwork it though, that will make it tough.  Just get it to come together.

assorted 007

Now, just roll it out into a circle large enough to fit into your pie pan.  Place it in your pan.  Crimp the edges to make them pretty.  You can either use a fork to make indentions, or make a fluted edge with your fingers.  It’s kind of hard to show you here because you need both hands to do it, and of course I had to have the camera in one hand.  But, to do the fluted edge, you’re going to take two fingers of your left hand and place them on the edge like this (I’ve already done the whole crust here, but hopefully you’ll get the idea!):

assorted 015

Then, place one finger on your right hand between those two and pull it inward a bit.  This forms the fluted edge.  Do this all the way around the crust.  For this pie, we don’t need to prebake it, but if you do need a prebaked crust, just prick the crust with a fork several times and bake at 350 until lightly golden brown.

Now, let’s make the filling.  You’ll need the following:

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour

1 stick butter, melted

2 eggs

1 cup chopped pecans

1-1/2 cups chocolate chips*

1 tsp vanilla

 

First, put the flour and sugar in a medium sized bowl.  Then pour in the melted butter.assorted 019

Sitr together and add in the eggs.

assorted 020

Stir those in then add the vanilla.  Add the pecans and chocolate chips.

assorted 024

Stir that all together and then pour into the pie shell.

assorted 028

Now bake at 350 for about 40-45 minutes, or until a nice golden brown.  It’ll look like this…

assorted 004

I wish I could show you what it looks like on the inside, but I couldn’t cut this pie because I was giving it to our sweet neighbor as a thank you for all the vegetables she’s given us from her garden. 

*Note on the chocolate chips:  You can use any type of chocolate chips you like…bittersweet, semisweet, milk, it doesn’t matter.  But what I like to do, and what I think makes my pie a little different than most, is to combine milk and semisweet chips to make up the 1-1/2 cups.  I do about half of each, but just use what you have, it’ll be good no matter what kind of chocolate chips you use.

I really hope you try this pie…I can’t imagine that you wouldn’t like it!

3 thoughts on “My ‘famous’ Kentucky Derby Pie

  1. My daughter makes this pie! IT is her “specialty”! She is 15 and one time forgot the recipe and melted the chocolate chips. When she baked it it turned out even better!

  2. Pingback: Coconut Cream Pie & Wednesday Winning « Let's Get Cookin'!

Leave a Reply

