Fiesta Black Bean Salsa…or Salad, whichever.

Today I wanted to share a super super simple adn quick recipe with you.  This is a great side dish with any Mexican-style meal.  And it makes a GREAT dish to take with you to your next pot-luck or picnic because there’s nothing in it that would really go bad…well, I mean, you wouldn’t want it to sit out for like, oh, a week and then eat it.  Um…that would just be gross!  But, like I said, it’s something you CAN take to a picnic or potluck and not have to worry about it spoiling.  And did I mention it was simple and easy?  And quick too?

Enter my Fiesta Black Bean Salsa…or Salad.  I call it salsa because we eat it with tortilla chips, but you could call it a salad if you were just eating it as a side dish with your meal.  Either way, I think you’ll love it.

assorted 074

Here’s what I put in mine…but like I’ve said before…you can always add other things that you like.  I’m kinda picky, so there are some things that I do NOT add purposely…like jalepenos for instance.  Sweet Georgia Brown, my mouth burns just thinking of those suckers.  No WAY am I puttin them in my salsa!  But if you like a little heat…throw one in.  And anything else you like that would fit in well with this salsa.  So…the recipe…

3 tbsp lime juice

2 tbsp olive oil (I use extra virgin)

1 garlic clove, minced (or, I like to grate it over a microplan for better distribution)

1/2 tsp ground cumin (adds a nice, yet subtle smoky flavor)

1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper (everyone should own a peppermill…even if it’s the little McCormick kind!)

one 19 oz can of black beans, rinsed well and drained

2 cups fresh or thawed frozen corn kernels*

1/4 onion, finely minced (or use more of the onion if you like, and feel free to use bigger chunks than I do…I have a wierd thing about crunching into a fresh onion.  Shudder!)

1-2 tomatoes, diced

1-2 avocados, diced (I didn’t put it in the salsa this time, b/c we’d already eaten all the avocados we had!)

 

In a big bowl, just toss all the ingredients together well.  Serve with tortilla chips or as a side to your favorite main dish.

*About the corn…if you’re serving this at home, right away, I’d either use fresh corn or use thawed frozen corn to prepare this.  BUT, if you’re taking this to a pot-luck or picnic, I’d use the corn FROZEN and make it as late at possible.  That way the corn will thaw in transport and keep the dish colder longer.  But that’s just my opinion.

And like I said, add other ingredients as you like…diced jalepenos, bell peppers, even add some little chunks of cheese if you want.  Some quinoa would even be good  (Jo…I’ve not gotten any in forever…I need to get some more…wanna make a road trip when you visit?)   There’s no wrong way to do this salsa!

 

Have you all seen Julie and Julia yet?  I want to see it this week. Who wants to go with me????

Leave a Reply

