DIY Coffee Table Rehab

I have been looking for a coffee table since we moved in a year ago.  But I wasn’t going to pay the price for a new one, so I’ve kept my eye out for one at yard sales and thrift stores.  FINALLY…a few weeks ago, I found this beauty…

assorted june 09 350

What?  You don’t think she’s pretty?  Doesn’t this beautiful wear and tear make her just fabulous?

assorted june 09 352

Well, don’t feel bad, I didn’t think so either.  BUT, she had great lines and was the perfect size for my living room.  So, for a mere $15 I took her home.  I started out by by giving her a good sanding…you know,  kinda like a massage for a coffee table…

assorted june 09 353

I used an electric sander for the top, and a sanding sponge on the legs.  Wiped it down with a damp cloth to remove any dust.  Now, she was ready for paint.  I couldn’t decide between white or black…so I went with both.  Zebra stripes.  No, just kidding.  I did white on the legs and ‘skirt’ of the table and black for the top.  And here’s how she looks now, in my living room. 

Living and outdoor 008

Pretend you don’t see the fish food flakes on the table.  Princess misses the bowl half the time. 

I’m still on the search for an area rug for under the table.  Who knows how long it will take for me to find one that I like that will fit my budget. 

***I’m linking up to Kimba’s DIY Party over at A Soft Place To Land, so be sure to check out the other great projects too!

10 thoughts on “DIY Coffee Table Rehab

  1. That’s too funny. I posted right above you with the a coffee table makeover I did in Jan. It’s the same treatment. You must have been reading coastal living too. Love your how yours turned out.

Leave a Reply

