Recipe: Mexican Pork Chops

I tried a new recipe a couple nights ago and my entire family loved it, so I wanted to share it with my blog family too!  Of course, you have to make it yourself, but it’s a REALLY easy recipe.   It’s a healthy recipe as well, so you don’t have to feel guilty eating it!  If you like hot and spicy flavors, you can use hot salsa and/or mexican style canned tomatoes to add some heat.

MEXICAN PORK CHOPS

4-6 boneless pork loin cutlets (depending on how many you need)

1 onion, chopped (I used chopped frozen onions)

1 green bell pepper, chopped (again, I use frozen)

1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained

2 cups frozen corn kernels

1 can black beans, thoroughly rinsed and drained

1/2 cup salsa

1-1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp ground cumin

 

Preheat oven to 350F.

Spray a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray.  Add the pork and brown for about 2 minutes on each side assorted june 09 319

You’re just looking for a bit of color on them, you’re not cooking them through.  They should look something like this…

assorted june 09 318

Transfer the pork to a baking dish – I used a 9×13 pan. 

Now, spray the same skillet with more nonstick spray or a little vegetable oil and add the pepper and onion…

assorted june 09 322

Cook the pepper and onion, stirring as needed, until they are softened and just start to get some color on them…about five minutes or so.  They’ll look something like this…

assorted june 09 323

Now, add in the corn, black beans, salsa and tomatoes…

assorted june 09 326

Mmmm…doesn’t that look divine?!?!  Now, add in the oregano and cumin.   Cook until heated through, about two minutes or so.  Pour this mixture over the pork in your baking dish…

assorted june 09 332

Trust me, the pork is under there.  And it’s in heaven as it’s being covered by this delicious bean/corn/tomato yumminess!   Stick it in the oven and bake it for about 45 minutes, or until the pork is tender.

Here’s the finished result…although you’ll have to forgive me for the dark photo…my family was starving and didn’t want to wait for me to get the perfect picture!

assorted june 09 333

The corn mixture is, of course, good with the pork, but it would make an awesome side dish by itself, or as a dip/salsa for tortilla chips. 

I hope you try this fabulous recipe, and let me know what you think!

One thought on “Recipe: Mexican Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: It’s Meal Plan Monday!! | The Curvy Life

Leave a comment