Recipe: Easy Chicken/Beef/Pork Nachos

I thought I’d share a really quick and easy recipe with you today and resume the Home Tour on Monday.  Why?  Well, because we love this recipe and I thought you might too!   This is a great way to use up leftover chicken..or beef or pork.

Here are the participants in today’s recipe:

Logan Baptism 046

  • Tortilla Chips
  • Salsa
  • Black Beans, drained and rinsed well
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Avocado
  • Leftover Chicken (or watever meat you have laying around) – you could also use canned chicken for this if you didn’t have any leftovers.

If you have them and you like them, use some tomatoes, onions, green peppers, jalepenos…whatever you normally eat on a taco can go in this dish.

Now…using a fork, shred your leftover meat…

Logan Baptism 051

Now, put a layer of tortilla chips into a baking dish – I’m using a 10″ stoneware piece, but any dish will work.

Logan Baptism 073

Next, heat up a saute pan to medium high heat, add a bit of oil or butter and heat up your shredded chicken, then toss in a few spoonfuls of salsa…

Logan Baptism 074

Heat until the chicken and salsa is well combined and warm.  It should look something like this…

Logan Baptism 075

Now, put the chicken layer over the chips in the baking dish…

Logan Baptism 076

Next, add  your black beans and cheese in layers…

Logan Baptism 077

Logan Baptism 078

 Make sure you cover the chips well with the cheese…if you don’t the chips tend to burn a bit around the edges.  At this point, you’ll add any other ingredients you have on hand that you like…tomatoes, onions, peppers, etc. 
Toss this into the oven at 350-F and bake until the cheese is nice and melty.

Dice up a nice, ripe avocado…

Logan Baptism 079

And toss it with a little bit of lime juice to keep it from turning brown and add this to your nachos when they come out of the oven. 
That’s it! 

EASY CHICKEN NACHOS!!!  Um…are you wondering why I don’t have a picture of the finished product?  Well, it’s simply because these nachos are SO freaking good that  I  my family devoured them before I had the chance.  So sorry.  I’ll do better next time, I promise.  Pinky swear.

I’ll be taking a break tomorrow for church, visiting the inlaws and Small Group Bible study, but be sure to come back on Monday for my next installment of the Home Tour!!  Remember…it’s gonna be a CLEAN room.  Any guesses??

And if you have any questions about the recipe, just leave me a comment and I’ll try my best to answer them!

Leave a Reply

