Cookie Exchange Recipe -Raisin Filled Cookies

I had these cookies while on vacation in Texas.  I don’t even like raisins, but I really liked these cookies!  How wierd is that?  So, even if your kids (or you!) don’t  like raisins, maybe they’ll like this cookie!

RAISIN FILLED COOKIES

(Sorry, I don’t have a photo for these)

Preheat oven to 350. 
FILLING:

1 cup raisins (I like the golden raisins best for this)

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

2 tbsp flour

Dash of salt

1 tsp vanilla

Place all in saucepan and cook until thick.  Cool.

DOUGH:

1 cup shortening

2 cups brown sugar

Blend the two together and add:

3 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

4 cups flour

Blend together.  If dough is too thick, add up to 2 tbsp. cold water.

Roll out dough and cut out circles.  Put filling between two cookies, press the edges to seal and bake for 10-15 minutes.  Check often to make sure they don’t burn!

And, I promised y’all I’d tell you what the giveaway would be today, right?  Well, I am going to put together a Cookie Cookbook with lots of my other favorite cookie recipes (At least 30 recipes, maybe more!), and I’ll be giving it away to ONE OF MY LUCKY BLOG READERS!!  The details about the giveaway will be announced on Monday, along with the Cookie Exchange, so don’t miss it!

Leave a Reply

