Link to a giveaway & Cookie Exchange Recipe

I apologize for not posting a recipe yesterday, I worked 11 hours yesterday – from 8am to 7pm and then came home and went to bed at about 8:15 pm.  I’ll catch up with two recipes tomorrow!

But before we move on to recipes, I have to share this cute costume giveaway with you!  Hop on over to Grosgain to enter to win this adorable costume SET:bo peep and sheep costume

Now, I thought I’d share a great gingerbread recipe with you today.  I make gingerbread cookies every year with the kids, and I think I could eat a whole batch by myself!  This recipe is for cutout cookies…I’ve never tried it for houses. 

 

GINGERBREAD CUTOUT COOKIES

2/3 cup shortening

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

pinch salt

3/4 cup molasses

1 egg

3 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

 

Cream together the first 6 ingredients.  Add egg and mix.  Add molasses, mix again.

Combine the flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a seperate bowl.  Add to the creamed mixture a little at a time until well blended.  Roll out between two pieces of waxed paper, chill until firm.  Preheat oven to 350.  Cut chilled dough with desired cutter and place on a non-stick baking pan (or one lined with parchment paper).  Bake 8-10 minutes (be sure to watch them though, the baking time may vary according to ovens).

Decorate with your favorite cookie icing!  Here’s my absolute favorite icing…it dries hard enough for you to package or stack your cookies, but is soft enough that it won’t chip a tooth when you bit into it!  Let the iced cookies dry to the touch, then cover them loosely with waxed paper and let them sit overnight before packaging or stacking.

COOKIE ICING

1 pound powdered sugar

1 heaping tsp meringue powder (found in the cake decorating section of your craft store/Walmart)

1/4 tsp clear vanilla

1/4 tsp clear butter flavor

1/4 tsp almond extract

water – amount will vary

 

Combine powdered sugar and meringue powder in a large mixing bowl/stand mixer bowl.  Add flavorings.  Add water a little at a time until you reach a good icing consistency.   For outlining your cookies, you want it to be a little stiffer, but for filling in, you can make it a little thinner.  Here are some decorating ideas for your cookies (all photos were found with google search, these are not mine – I can’t find pics of mine!):

Ice the entire cookie, let it dry and then pipe on accents in one or more colors:

Snowflakes by ann.ames.

Reindeer in flight by ann.ames.

Snowmen by ann.ames.

Or, don’t cover the cookie in icing, just do the details, and let the gingerbread show through, like this:

 

 

You can also dip them in decorating sugars or sprinkles while the icing is still wet for this look:

Gingerbread Snowflakes by Up Late Cakes.

Share your gingerbread creations with me!

One thought on “Link to a giveaway & Cookie Exchange Recipe

  1. Hi,
    I sniff molasses and ginger everywhere I go lately. Could it be the holidays are nearing? Yours is the second molasses & ginger recipe I have selected to include in my holiday gift trays. I will send you a photo of the Iced Boys and Girls. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

