Pumpkin Cookie recipe & a Cute Recipe Book!

I’m sorry I didn’t get the recipe and pic of the pumpkin cookies up until now.  It has been a busy couple days here…things at school, soccer, MOPS things going on, etc etc.  Anyway, here are the yummy cookies I made for my daughter’s Pumpkin Tasting Party on Friday:

Here’s the recipe:

PUMPKIN SANDWICH COOKIES

1 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ginger

1/3 cup canned pumpkin

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

2-3/4 cups all purpose flour

3 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup powdered sugar (I used a little more)

3 tbsp. whipping cream

1 tsp. vanilla

 

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter on medium to high speed for 30 seconds, until creamy.  Add sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.  Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.  Beat in pumpkin, egg, and vanilla until combined.  Beat in flour, slowly.

Divid dough in half.  Roll each half into a log on parchment paper.  Chill until firm.  Slice into 1/4″ slices and bake at 400 degrees for 6-8 minutes or until edges are firm but not browned.  Transfer to a wire rack and cool.  (*Note:  I didn’t have time to let them chill so I just used a scoop to make ‘drop cookies’ – they were a little thick, so I’d recommend letting them chill and cutting them instead!)

In a small bowl, stir together the cream cheese, powdered sugar and whipping cream until smooth. 

Spread bottoms of half the cookies with cream cheese filling; top with remaining cookies, flat sides down.

Store in refrigerator up to 3 days.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On another note…here’s a cute recipe book I made this week to be included in a basket that will be auctioned at my kids’ school fall festival on Nov. 1.   The theme of their basket is “Mom & Me” so I made a little recipe book with recipes that my kids like to help me make and things they love to eat.   Here it is packaged up with a muffin mix I made as well.  I’ll share more ‘in-depth’ pics of the recipe book soon.

The recipe book:

The muffin mix:

Leave a Reply

